Divorce

If two people decide to separate or divorce, we assist you in this difficult step. A divorce means the end of a lifelong dream that has been created permanently and must now be considered as having failed. What a partner interprets as liberation may look on others as a personal failure, or feel lonely and abandoned. A lasting gentleness and goodness of the separating partners towards each other is part of the goal of a succesful divorce and we as a community stand by the partners with words and deeds.
It is the firm conviction of our community that both men and women, or the same-sex partners of a marriage, can individually file for divorce. If wished by a spouse or both, a religious divorce can be done with us in the mosque. However, we only carry out this religious divorce after there is a public divorce certificate, which means the marriage has already been legally divorced. Thus, both the waiting period and custody are regulated by civil law and are not challenged by us.

Marriages that have been closed only religiously have no legal effect in Germany. However, as there is an increasing number of inquiries from people who have been religiously married in their home countries and for whom religious divorce is spiritually important, we also offer these people divorce in our mosque in the presence of witnesses. Such a divorce has only a religious effect.

If you have questions or need further advice, please contact our Imam Mohamed El-Kateb: mok@ibn-rushd-goethe-moschee.de

Scheidungen

Fassen zwei Menschen den Beschluss, sich voneinander zu trennen bzw. scheiden zulassen, stehen wir Ihnen als Ibn Rushd – Goethe Moschee bei diesem schwierigem Schritt zur Seite. Eine Scheidung bedeutet das Ende eines Lebenstraumes, der auf Dauer angelegt wurde und nun als gescheitert gelten muss. Was ein Partner als Befreiung interpretiert, mag der andere als persönliches Versagen ansehen, oder sich einsam und verlassen fühlen. Eine dauerhafte Milde und Güte der sich trennenden Partner einander gegenüber ist Teil des Ziels einer Scheidung und wir als Moscheegemeinde stehen dafür den Partnern mit Rat und Tat zur Seite.
Es ist unumstößliche Position unserer Gemeinde, dass sowohl Männer als auch Frauen, bzw. die beiden gleichgeschlechtlichen Partner einer Ehegemeinschaft, die Scheidung einreichen können. Wünscht ein Ehepartner oder beide dies, kann eine religiöse Scheidung bei uns in der Moschee vollzogen werden. Wir führen diese religiöse Scheidung allerdings erst dann durch, wenn eine Scheidungsurkunde eines deutschen Gerichts vorliegt, also die Ehe bereits rechtskräftig geschieden ist. Damit sind sowohl die Wartezeit als auch das Sorgerecht zivilrechtlich geregelt und werden von uns nicht angefochten.

Ehen, die nur religiös geschlossen wurden, haben in Deutschland rechtlich keine Wirksamkeit. Da es jedoch vermehrt Anfragen von Menschen gibt, die in ihren Heimatländern nur religiös getraut wurden und für die eine religiöse Scheidung spirituell wichtig ist, bieten wir auch diesen Menschen an, sich in unserer Moschee unter Anwesenheit von Zeugen scheiden zu lassen. Eine solche Scheidung hat nur religiöse Wirkung, keine zivilrechtliche.

Bei Fragen und Interesse melden Sie sich bitte bei unserem Imam Mohamed El-Kateb: mok@ibn-rushd-goethe-moschee.de